A Pinterest a Day: Mini Pies!

 

Well! Aren’t these just the cutest! I saw this post for bite sized pies on a stick, and all I could think was “aren’t these the bees knees.” Yes, I thought that.

But I also didnt want to do peanut butter, I wanted to use my homemade Nutella that I made just yesterday! So, I began.

Mini Pies! makes 12-24 depending on size

cream cheese crust:

2 cups all purpose flour

¼ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

¾ cup cold unsalted butter, cut into cubes

¼ cup cold cream cheese, cut into cubes

2 Tablespoons buttermilk (or milk with a splash of vinegar to thicken)

filling:

nutella

jelly (any type)

egg wash:

1 egg white

1 tablespoon milk

1 .Cut butter and cream cheese into flour, baking powder and salt that has been thoroughly blended. Add buttermilk and wrap in saran, refridgerate!

2. One cold, roll out to about 1/8” and cut shapes, depending on size, you may yeild 12-24 pies! YAY!

3. Fill and glue edges together with egg wash, cut cute decorative designs in the top (also funtional to let out steam) and bake at 375°F for 15 minutes, turning halfway.

Voila! Yummy pies! Easy peasy right? I opted out from the sticks, I mean, my pies dont last long enough to make sticking them worth it.

You can always rub in your fats instead of using a pastry cutter. Just quickly rub the cubes of butter between your fingers, eventually ending up with a crumb like consistency .

I also decided to experiment with open holes in the crusts. Well, the hearts worked out ok, but the honeycombs, not as much. They tasted fine, but weren’t as clean as the others.

These pies were yummy, but next time I would roll them a bit thinner, the crust to filling ratio wasn’t that great, I would aim for 1/16th of an inch, or make the pies bigger so you can fit more filling. Dont try with the small ones, they will just make sealing them frustrating. I like the mini mini ones, so I would just roll them out thinner. Look! So small! I hope you enjoy making these!!!

 

Leave a Reply

